When you meet the reality of yet another New Year

January 1, 2012

Yep. I have done it and so have many of you too.

I’m talking resolutions.  What is my resolution?  Get my driver’s licence and pay off my debts.   Yeah, so I would love to lose weight, make millions and find the love of my life, but I can settle for the above.  Twenty eleven turned out to be a year of ups and downs.  It was the year that I made many shitty financial decisions, had people come in and out of my life in which I truly cared for and was sick in the past 4 months, 10 weeks.  Yep, pretty shit.

But on the other hand, if I didn’t meet some of these people and made certain decisions, I wouldn’t have met one of closest friends, met the guy that I am interested in through her, wouldn’t have decided to continue my education or to start off my year on a high travelling Asia for four and a half weeks.

I guess in every bad situation, something good generally arises.  But I hope that my financial burden clears in which it appears two jobs while studying full time may be required.

What are my plans for the rest of the year?  Well, I have a plan.  However its rather elaborate.  Learn how to play the guitar to accompany the songs I have written in order to showcase my voice.  Finish a short acting course.  Run the 8km Mother’s Day Classic.  Finish second draft of my short stories to put into a book.  Save enough money to go on exchange next year (in addition to paying the 7k debt I have) and so on.

We always put such immense pressure on ourselves to complete all these things in a year, setting ourselves up for failure and it’s sad.  I have two main resolutions which don’t mean changing my physical appearance or change who I am, other than with money.  Two achievable resolutions.  Another one I do have is not to let dickheads reign my life.

I’m not a pessimist or an optimist, I guess I am a realist.  I believe you can do pretty much anything you put your mind to.  But it takes baby steps to do so.

Good luck with your resolutions this year!

Stacey xx

Leave a Reply

